About Me

Gabrielle Walls – Director / Principal Occupational Therapist

My Story

Hi! My name is Gabby and I am THE sole practitioner for Little Sparks Occupational Therapy. Most importantly I am also a wife and a mum of 3 beautiful kids all under the age of 8 years.

As an OT I feel proud and fortunate to have worked across a wide variety of healthcare settings in my 13+ years of practice. I have worked in fast-paced city hospitals in acute spinal cord injury, brain injury, stroke rehab, lower limb amputation and aged care caseloads.

I have also spent time in injury management and workplace rehabilitation. Most of my professional practice has been in paediatric disability with several years working for a non-government organisation, completing many outreach visits and community-based services.

Little Sparks OT was founded in February 2020, born out of a desire to have a career that was flexible around my family yet also provide a much-needed paediatric allied health service to my local region. 

Working as a community-based therapist, particularly in small and remote communities is what I enjoy most. I value getting to know clients and their families on a 1:1 basis to provide meaningful, individualised therapy services.

Due to my first-born sons’ struggles with feeding, “failure to thrive”, and eventual diagnosis with eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE) and multiple food allergies, my perspective as a therapist changed drastically. Spending some time on the other side of the fence as a health service consumer, was valuable to my professional practice and growth as a therapist working in paediatrics.

I have a special interest in children who have feeding issues, such as “fussy” or picky eaters, sensory / oral aversions to certain foods, and children transitioning from NG tubes or PEG feeds to oral nutrition. I am trained in the SOS (Sequential-Oral-Sensory) Approach to feeding and continually seek to expand my professional development in this area of practice.

I am a registered OT with AHPRA and a member of Occupational Therapy Australia.

In my spare time I love being outdoors gardening, swimming (especially at the beach), riding bikes with my kids or walking our pet labradoodle dog. Having grown up on a small dairy farm on Norfolk Island, I am a huge animal-lover. Whenever I get the chance, I enjoy reading autobiographies especially those that feature overseas travels.

Gabrielle Walls
Occupational Therapy Australia Member

Contact Gabby to find out more

Core Values

Integrity

Respect

Flexibility

Collaboration

Fun!